Strategy Consulting

The way organizations look at the topic of “strategy” has fundamentally changed. Drivers of these changes are the four factors from the VUCA acronym, i.e. volatility, uncertainty, complexity and ambiguity.
Strategy used to be seen as the art of omission. Of the many possible paths that bring me to my goal, I choose the best one and then leave out everything that does not belong to this path. Often, this resulted in marching directions for many years, which, however, were overtaken by reality after only a few months. As a result, strategies often became more and more generic, until they were soon only trivial declarations of intent with regard to self-evident things (increase sales, increase customer satisfaction, promote innovation, etc.). The process of finding such a strategy alone often took and still takes several months in large companies.

An expression of this development is the fact that strategies were often printed matter – elaborately designed and “coordinated with everyone, but above all top-down, thought up by a staff unit of the company management.

In the VUCA world, all this is not only difficult, but often even negligent. Strategies have to become more short-term, they have to emerge quickly and they have to be changed quickly. They must emerge in the middle of the organization, they must allow for diversity. Strategies must not be constricting, they must encourage experimentation. A good strategy leaves many options open.
Today, strategy work is a dialogic, iterative process, conceived from the customer’s point of view.

Menu

Strategy Consulting

Die Art und Weise, wie Organisationen auf das Thema “Strategie” schauen, hat sich fundamental gewandelt. Treiber dieser Veränderungen sind die vier Faktoren aus dem VUCA-Akronym, also Volatilität, Unsicherheit, Komplexität und Ambiguität.
Früher wurde Strategie als die Kunst des Weglassens gesehen. Von den vielen möglichen Wegen, die mich zu meinem Ziel bringen, wähle ich den besten aus und lasse dann alles weg, was nicht zu diesem Weg gehört. Oft entstanden dadurch Marsch-Richtungen für viele Jahre, die aber schon nach wenigen Monaten von der Realität überholt waren. In Folge wurden Strategien oft immer generischer, bis sie bald nur noch triviale Absichts-Bekundungen waren, in Bezug auf Selbstverständlichkeiten (Mehr Umsatz steigern, Kundenzufriedenheit steigern, Innovation fördern, etc.). Allein der Prozess einer solchen Strategie-Findung nahm und nimmt in großen Unternehmen oft mehrere Monate in Anspruch.

Ausdruck dieser Entwicklung ist, die Tatsache, dass Strategien oft Drucksachen waren – aufwendig gestaltet und “mit allen abgestimmt, vor allem aber Top-Down, erdacht von einer Stabsstelle der Unternehmensleitung.

In der VUCA-Welt ist all das nicht nur schwierig, sondern sogar oft fahrlässig. Strategien müssen kurzfristiger werden, sie müssen schnell entstehen und schnell verändert werden. Sie müssen in der Mitte der Organisation entstehen, sie darf Unterschiedlichkeit zulassen.Strategien dürfen nicht einengen, sie müssen das Experimentieren fördern. Eine gute Strategie lässt viele Optionen offen.
Strategie-Arbeit ist heute ein dialogischer, vom Kunden her gedachter, iterativer Prozess.

Menü