We don’t need heroes – Postheroic Leadership

Uncategorized

At the end of last year, I had the great pleasure of listening to a presentation by Blair Sheppard (Global Leader Strategy and Leadership PwC). He framed his passionate plea to leave a livable world for the next generation with two insights from his research that I couldn’t agree more with.

Insight 1: Challenges now and here (ADAPT).

  • Asymmetry: increasing wealth inequality and erosion of the middle class
  • Disruption: the pervasive nature of technology and its impact on individuals, society and the climate
  • Age: demographic pressures on businesses, social institutions and economies
  • Trust: diminishing confidence in the institutions that sustain society

The ADAPT framework summarizes extremely urgent problems facing society, businesses, and individuals that are acute and divisive, and for which there are no answers. But we must act now or we will face a future we will not like.

Insight 2: Dealing with these challenges

For Blair, “leaders” are needed who can quickly and confidently navigate between or deal with the following paradoxes in our highly dynamic world.

  • Globally-minded localist: the world is drifting further and further apart and yet we are all interdependent and our actions influence each other, people are focusing more and more on their manageable (influenceable) environment due to this increasing complexity, but we must dare to look beyond our own horizons, understand the interrelationships, take a global view and act powerfully locally in our own sphere of action and pay attention to the big picture
    High-integrity politician: acting on the basis of a stable set of values that provide orientation and still being able to negotiate integrative approaches and workable compromises.
  • Humble hero: courage to go new ways, to offer people orientation and to take them along, and at the same time the humility to admit openly that one is not sure oneself whether the way is the right one and that one can also be mistaken and make mistakes.
    Strategic executor: high dynamics and intensity of change require the combination of strategic thinking and anticipation of the future as well as effective and efficient action.
  • Tech-savy humanist: technology changes how we make decisions, how we interact with each other, therefore it is not enough to “just” know how to use technology, we also need to understand the impact and consequences on social systems
    Traditioned innovator: it takes the ability to distinguish when to acknowledge and evolve/adapt what is known and proven and when to develop completely new solutions because the problems require it.

 

And this is where our opinions start to drift apart, because what “leader” is supposed to be able to do all that? No single person can do it, that’s clear. Not the heroic CEO or the self-sacrificing executive. The call for lone warriors and heroes inevitably leads to a dead end!

With our system-theoretical view of organizations, we understand leadership as a function in the “social system” organization, i.e. it does not depend on one person (the manager/leader), but depending on the context, different needs for action arise from the responsibility spectrum of leadership. But whoever assumes these responsibility(s) does not have to be the leader (in the hierarchical sense) – it can also be one (or more) leaders (in the social sense).

What is needed, then, are teams, diverse teams, that use their different “personalities” and complementary, shared strengths to address the challenges and problems of the future. And it needs formal leaders and structures that protect these teams with their formal power and enable cooperation and socially-legitimized leadership.

Unfortunately, too few organizations have yet come to this realization.

  • Organizations still focus on individual performance and reward it with individual goals and bonuses instead of recognizing that problem solving is an emergent team effort.
  • Organizations still create structures and instruments that prevent or at least hinder cooperation and collaboration instead of fostering it: talent programs for “high potentials”, job descriptions with AKV lists, silo-like departmental structures, annual plans with coupled KPI tracking and target systems, and so on.
  • Still too often paternalizing “leaders”, power-conscious or control-mad egomaniacs jostle between the people with their competencies and the most pressing external problems of the organization/world.

If you would like to talk to us about solutions to this dilemma and learn more about our understanding of corporate and HR development, we would be happy to invite you to a personal exchange with us in Heidelberg or in our virtual meeting room in Microsoft Teams. Just get in touch at

Menu

We don’t need heroes – Postheroic Leadership

Ende letzten Jahres hatte ich das große Vergnügen einem Vortrag von Blair Sheppard (Global Leader Strategy and Leadership PwC) zu lauschen. Sein leidenschaftliches Plädoyer, der nächsten Generation eine lebenswerte Welt zu hinterlassen, rahmte er mit zwei Erkenntnissen aus seinen Forschungen, denen ich nur zustimmen kann.

Erkenntnis 1: Herausforderungen jetzt und hier (ADAPT)

  • Asymmetry: zunehmende Vermögensungleichheit und Erosion der Mittelschicht
  • Disruption: die allgegenwärtige Natur der Technologie und ihre Auswirkungen auf den Einzelnen, die Gesellschaft und das Klima
  • Age: demografischer Druck auf Unternehmen, soziale Institutionen und Volkswirtschaften
  • Trust: schwindendes Vertrauen in die Institutionen, die die Gesellschaft stützen

Das ADAPT-Framework fasst äußerst dringende Probleme zusammen, mit denen die Gesellschaft, Unternehmen und Einzelpersonen konfrontiert sind, die akut und spaltend sind und auf die es keine Antworten gibt. Doch wir müssen jetzt handeln, oder wir werden einer Zukunft entgegensehen, die uns nicht gefallen wird.

Erkenntnis 2: Umgang mit diesen Herausforderungen

Für Blair braucht es „Führungspersönlichkeiten“, die in unserer hoch-dynamischen Welt schnell und sicher zwischen folgenden Paradoxien navigieren bzw. mit folgenden Dilemmata umgehen können.

  • Globally-minded localist: die Welt driftet immer mehr auseinander und doch sind wir alle abhängig voneinander und unsere Handlungen beeinflussen sich gegenseitig, Menschen fokussieren aufgrund dieser zunehmenden Komplexität immer mehr auf ihr überschaubares (beeinflussbares) Umfeld, wir müssen aber den Blick über den Tellerrand wagen, die Zusammenhänge verstehen, global betrachten und lokal im eigenen Handlungsbereich schlagkräftig agieren und auf das große Gesamtbild einzahlen
  • High-integrity politician: basierend auf einem stabilen Orientierung-gebenden Wertegerüst agieren und trotzdem in der Lage sein, integrativ Vorgehensweisen auszuhandeln und tragfähige Kompromisse auszuhandeln
  • Humble hero: es braucht Mut neue Wege zu gehen, Menschen Orientierung zu bieten und sie mitzunehmen und gleichzeitig die Bescheidenheit offen zuzugeben, dass man selber nicht sicher ist, ob der Weg der richtige ist und dass man sich auch täuschen und Fehler machen kann
  • Strategic executor: hohe Dynamik und Veränderungsintensität bedingt das Vereinen von strategischem Denken und Antizipieren der Zukunft sowie effektivem und effizientem Handeln
  • Tech-savy humanist: Technik verändert wie wir Entscheidungen treffen, wie wir miteinander agieren, daher reicht es nicht „nur“ mit der Technik umgehen zu können, wir müssen auch die Auswirkungen und Folgen auf soziale Systeme verstehen
  • Traditioned innovator: es braucht die Fähigkeit zu unterscheiden, wann man Bekanntes und Bewährtes anerkennen sollte und weiterentwickeln/anpassen kann und wann man komplett neue Lösungen entwickeln muss, weil die Probleme das erfordern.

 

Und hier beginnen unsere Meinungen auseinander zu driften, denn welche „Führungspersönlichkeit“ soll das alles können? Das kann kein einzelner Mensch leisten, das ist klar. Nicht der heroische CEO oder die sich aufopfernde Führungskraft. Der Ruf nach Einzelkämpfern und Helden mündet zwangsläufig in einer Sachgasse!

Mit unserem systemtheoretischen Blick auf Organisationen, verstehen wir Führung als eine Funktion im “sozialen System” Organisation d.h. es hängt nicht an einer Person (der Führungskraft / dem Leader), sondern je nach Kontext ergeben sich unterschiedliche Handlungsbedürfnisse aus dem Verantwortungsspektrum von Führung. Doch wer diese Verantwortung(en) wahrnimmt, muss nicht die Führungskraft (im hierarchischen Sinne) sein – das kann auch eine (oder mehrere) Führungspersönlichkeiten (im sozialen Sinne) sein.

Was es also braucht sind Mannschaften, diverse Teams, die mit ihren unterschiedlichen „Persönlichkeiten“ und den sich gegenseitig ergänzenden, gemeinsamen Stärken die Herausforderungen und Probleme der Zukunft angehen. Und es braucht formale Führungskräfte und Strukturen, die diese Teams mit ihrer formalen Macht schützen und Kooperation sowie sozial-legitimierte Führung ermöglichen.

Nur leider ist diese Erkenntnis noch in zu wenigen Organisationen angekommen.

  • Noch immer fokussieren Organisationen auf Einzelleistungen und belohnen diese durch individuelle Ziele und Boni anstelle anzuerkennen, dass Problemlösungen eine emergente Teamleistung sind.
  • Noch immer erschaffen Organisationen Strukturen und Instrumente, die Kooperation und Zusammenarbeit verhindern oder zumindest erschweren statt sie zu befeuern: Talentprogramme für „High-Potentials“, Stellenbeschreibungen mit AKV-Listen, Silo-artige Abteilungsstrukturen, Jahresplanungen mit gekoppeltem Kennzahlentracking und Zielsystem und so weiter.
  • Noch immer drängeln sich viel zu oft paternalisiernde „Anführer“, Macht-bewusste oder Kontroll-wütige Egomanen zwischen die Menschen mit ihren Kompetenzen und die drängendsten externen Probleme der Organisation/der Welt.

Wer sich mit uns über Lösungen aus diesem Dilemma unterhalten und dabei mehr über unser Verständnis von Unternehmens- und Personal-Entwicklung lernen will, den laden wir gerne zu einem persönlichen Austausch zu uns nach Heidelberg oder Corona-konform in unseren virtuellen Besprechungsraum in Microsoft Teams ein. Einfach melden unter

Menü